WEATHER »

Voices

Loss of Hollister/Glen Annie Sidewalks the Last Straw

The Westar Project has caused an unending series of insults to the neighborhood. Read story.

Monday, September 1, 2014

Europe's View of Israel and Gaza

Despite the series of truces in the Gaza war, fighting breaks out time and again, with disproportionate results. Read story.

Friday, August 29, 2014

The Bicycle Alternative

I think about biking in Santa Barbara every day when I leave my house. Read story.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Depression, Addiction & Me

"All I know is it works. What have you got to lose? Why not give it a try?” Read story.

Sunday, August 24, 2014

City College Needs Measure S

Essential upgrades are needed for leaks, safety, and new technology. Read story.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

How to Make a Million

Most people know that a bicycle can improve your sex life and help save the planet, but did you know a bike can make you rich? Read story.

Monday, August 18, 2014

A Preemptive Measure for Health and Safety

Measure P will head off environmental destruction, water contamination, and health impacts. Read story.

Friday, August 15, 2014

Bikes and Cars

Do enough people commute by bicycle to justify reducing car lanes? Frank Hotchkiss wants to know what you think. Read story.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

'Affirmative Consent' U

New Senate bill reduces 'reasonable doubt' standard to 'preponderance of the evidence' in rape cases. Read story.

Monday, August 11, 2014

Funding Our Future

California's next generation may face lower education attainment than their parents. Read story.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Former Mayor of Dish, Texas, Speaks Out

Calvin Tillman warned against the expansion of high-risk oil extraction. Read story.

Monday, August 4, 2014

Taxpayers Should Oppose Proposed Fracking Ban

The Central Coast’s energy industry is vital to the economic health of the region — producing thousands of jobs and millions per year in tax revenue. Read story.

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Gang Injunction Denied

After three years of debate and legal battle, the proposed gang injunction bites the dust. Read story.

Thursday, July 31, 2014

We All Need Health Care Now

Medicare's seniors-only coverage was all that Congress would pass in 1965. Sound familiar? Read story.

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Falling to Pieces

The city's Bicycle Master Plan is a wall-papering job to cover up the massive failure of the city's bicycle promotion. Read story.

Monday, July 28, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: