WEATHER »

independent.com/education

Measure S: The $288 Million Question

Supporters rally for city college construction, but who will benefit? Read story.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

UCSB Ranked 15th in Nation

UCSB ranked 15th among national universities in an annual listing published 8/25 in the Washington Monthly. B Read story.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Sports Highlights: Aug. 22-31

UCSB hosts Westmont in men's soccer. AYSO clinic Sunday. Read story.

Friday, August 22, 2014

UCSB Number 3

School's party title slips in 2014 Princeton Review rankings. Read story.

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Skewed Distribution in Transfers to UC

A recent UC report outlines efforts to increase community college transfers. Read story.

Monday, July 7, 2014

First UCSB PhD in Feminist Studies

Carly Thomsen produced an award-winning dissertation and is heading to Texas for a post-doc appointment. Read story.

Monday, July 7, 2014

Suspension Rates Decreasing, Study Says

Santa Barbara reports 10 percent drop from last year. Read story.

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Elementary School Principal Departs for San Luis

Washington's Anne Hubbard takes a job as principal/superintendent at Cayucos Elementary School District. Read story.

Saturday, June 21, 2014

Teacher Tenure Struck Down

Landmark ruling looks to weed lemons from public education. Read story.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Rampage Victim Walks During UCSB Graduation

Thunderous applause greets Keith Cheung as he gets diploma on Saturday. Read story.

Monday, June 16, 2014

UCSB Collaborates with Goleta Water District

Communities come together to present lecture series on water shortages. Read story.

Saturday, May 24, 2014

One Year into Lifelong Learning

The SBCC program is doing well despite the initial pushback. Read story.

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Details Released in UCSB Student's Death

Sierra Markee-Winkler was found May 4 on an Isla Vista beach. Read story.

Originally published 12:45 p.m., May 13, 2014
Updated 9:00 a.m., May 14, 2014

SBCC Bond Measure Has Wide Support

Public survey shows positive responses; vast majority hold favorable view of college. Read story.

Monday, May 12, 2014

Welcome to the Party, Chancellor Yang

Top scholars have their choice of schools to attend; will UCSB remain on their list after Deltopia 2014? Read story.

Friday, May 9, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: