WEATHER »

Visual Arts

Review: Chakaia Booker at the Westmont Ridley-Tree Museum

The prints and sculptures in this West Coast debut show Chakaia Booker's fluent command in multiple media. Read story.

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Art Museum Plans Renovation

The $50 million project will add new gallery space and a rooftop garden. Read story.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Holidays in Color

From UCSB to the Funk Zone, there’s every kind of art available in Santa Barbara during the holiday season. Read story.

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Santa Barbara’s Hometown Cartoonist

Daryl Cagle discusses editorial cartooning in the digital era. Read story.

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Review: The Bird Man at the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History

Art meets natural science in these hand-colored lithographs from the atelier of 19th-century ornithologist John Gould. Read story.

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Review: Parmet and Blackwood: Unbound at wall space gallery

Christa Blackwood and Barbara Parmet represent the wall space gallery aesthetic at its best. Read story.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Review: UCSB MFA Open Studios

This annual group show invites art fans behind-the-scenes with some of Santa Barbara’s rising young talents. Read story.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Feast Your Eyes!

Choose from among more than 200 works, all for the same low price. Read story.

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Dissecting the Art of Music

AIGA Santa Barbara hosts a panel discussion about graphic design and artwork in the music industry. Read story.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Review: inch4inch at the Arts Fund Gallery

With inch4inch, curator Philip Koplin zooms in on some big shots. Read story.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Review: Barton Myers: Works of Architecture and Urbanism

The Toro Canyon architect’s works are surveyed in this sprawling exhibit, on display at UCSB through December 12. Read story.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Lynda Barry and Matt Groening Talk Love, Hate & Comics

Lynda Weinman interviews her longtime college friends about their upcoming talk at the Arlington Theatre. Read story.

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Review: The Cave of Treasures at UCSB’s AD&A Museum

Poison oak, Medusa, and swastikas come together in this challenging installation. Read story.

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Review: Frederick Hammersley at LA Louver Gallery

In this show, the LA Louver gallery in Venice Beach examines a pivotal moment in SoCal art history with an important connection to the Santa Barbara Museum of Art. Read story.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Review: Requiem for the Bibliophile at MCASB

MCASB’s latest exhibit examines the future of book and library culture and the implications it has for humanity. Read story.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: