WEATHER »

Film

Review: The Judge

The Judge flops in spite of its A-List cast. Read story.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Review: Pride

Bill Nighy and Imelda Staunton star in this uplifting film about an unlikely union. Read story.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Review: The Green Prince

WT: Director Nadav Schirman’s documentary uncovers the story of Mosab Hassan Yousef, the son of a Hamas leader who spent 10 years spying for the other side. Read story.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Review: Gone Girl

David Fincher’s latest isn’t flashy style like the Coen brothers, but it glows like a dream. Read story.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Review: The Skeleton Twins

Yes, Kristen Wiig and Bill Hader can be serious. Unfortunately, this film doesn’t do their chops justice. Read story.

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Review: The Boxtrolls

This film should come with one of those board game box stickers, because it really is fun for all ages. Read story.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

The Wrecking Crew’s Hit Machine

Denny Tedesco’s film screens at the Plaza Playhouse Theater on September 27. Read story.

Thursday, September 25, 2014

SBIFF Announces First 2015 Film, Honorees

The Costeau family will be honored with the Attenborough Award for Excellence in Nature Filmmaking. Read story.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Review: Love Is Strange

Ira Sachs’s quiet little film tackles big questions with a subtle hand. Read story.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Review: A Walk Among the Tombstones

Scott Frank’s latest thriller is an exercise in squandered potential. Read story.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

David Bowie Is: A Retrospective Oddity

The documentary about the acclaimed Bowie exhibit screens worldwide on Tuesday, September 23. Read story.

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Review: Thundercloud

Talon Clemow writes, directs, and films this complex surfing story about the famed Cloudbreak waves of 2012. Read story.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Review: The Drop

Tom Hardy steals scenes in this crime drama penned by Dennis Lehane. Read story.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Big Plans for 10th Anniversary of Sideways

There will be a free September 28 screening of the award-winning film about Santa Barbara wine country. Read story.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Review: A Summer’s Tale

Like a French Richard Linklater, writer/director Eric Rohmer knows how to make profound statements out of the seemingly mundane. Read story.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: