WEATHER »

805 Surf News

From Rincon to the Ranch

Get ready for crowded beach parking lots, neck tan lines, salty post-nasal drip and unexcused absences from work and school-surf season is once again kissing the coastline of Santa Barbara.

Click here for the 805 Surf Report

Benefit: SeaVees Legend Series

A custom Yater Spoon is currently up for auction with all the proceeds going to colon cancer research at the Cancer Center of Santa Barbara Read story.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Rincon Classic Wraps With Winners and Warm Weather

Demi Boelsterli, Matt Maheri, and Kellen Ellison come out on top. Read story.

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Game On for Rincon Classic

The 31st annual surf contest will be held this weekend. Read story.

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

The World in the Curl

Peter Westwick and Peter Neushul offer an exhilarating trip through surfing’s history, from tourist attraction to multibillion-dollar lifestyle industry. Read story.

Thursday, August 22, 2013

The World in the Curl

Chaucer’s celebrates The World in the Curl: An Unconventional History of Surfing with a book-signing. Read story.

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Bohemia at the Beach

The Funk Zone readies to get weird on the longest day of the year. Read story.

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Stripped-Down Stoke

In the past five years, the sport has become a trendy, regularly showcased wave-riding pursuit. Read story.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Ocean Divas Surf to Inspire

A growing group of middle-aged women is learning to love waves with Surf Happens. Read story.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Board Shapers

Isla Vista’s The First Floor creates handcrafted surfboards. Read story.

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Peterson Takes Third in Australian Surf Contest

Montecito teenager Lakey Peterson took home third place last week at the Rip Curl Women's Pro Bells Beach surf contest in Australia. Read story.

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Rincon Classic Is Surfers' Paradise

Boelsterli and Coffin among big winners at 30th annual surf showdown. Read story.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

From Zero to 100 with Lakey Peterson

The Montecito-grown surfing star is profiled in a new film that premieres this Sunday at the Lobero Theatre. Read story.

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Rincon Classic Still a No-Go

Annual surf competition remains in holding pattern. Read story.

Friday, February 1, 2013

Rincon Classic Still Holding

Annual surf contest not running this weekend. Read story.

Friday, January 25, 2013

Rincon Classic Not Running This Weekend

Annual surf contest remains on call for next weekend and beyond. Read story.

Thursday, January 10, 2013

The Dirty Knobs

The Dirty Knobs and The Coffis Brothers & The Mountain ... Read More