WEATHER »

independent.com/sbcc

Hope Springs at City College

Early budget projections offer reasons for optimism. Read story.

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Community College Crackerjack

How Peter Macdougall set the bar for timely graduation. Read story.

Thursday, January 3, 2013

SBCC's Center for Lifelong Learning Meetings

Series of informational meetings announced for SBCC's new Center for Lifelong Learning. Read story.

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

SBCC Volleyball

Santa Barbara City College Lady Vaqueros finish their regular season with a record-breaking 14-match winning streak and look onward to California State Championships. Read story.

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

City College Reorganization Approved

The SBCC board has voted for the creation of a privately funded Center for Lifelong Learning. Read story.

Saturday, September 29, 2012

Democracy Comes to City College

Two Candidates vie for Noleta seat. Read story.

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Accreditation Task Force to Visit City College

The City College Board of Trustees will take questions on Thursday from the six-member Accreditation Task Force that President Lori Gaskin formed this summer. Read story.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

City College Shaken Up, Shaken Down

School faces job cuts, declining enrollments, and reorganization. Read story.

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Memorial Service Planned for SBCC Professor

SBCC will hold a memorial service for biology professor Judy Meyer on Friday, September 14 at 1 p.m. at the Winslow Maxwell Overlook. Read story.

Thursday, September 6, 2012

SBCC Ranked in Country's Top Ten Community College List

For the second year in a row, SBCC has been named one of the top 10 community colleges in the country by the Aspen Institute College Excellence Award Program. Read story.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Changes Brew for City College Adult Ed

The school's board of trustees is set to vote on a major reorganization at their September 27 meeting. Read story.

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

City College to Offer Construction Technology Degrees

SBCC gained approval this week to offer a degree in Construction Technology. Read story.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Dr. Lori Gaskin on Her First Two Weeks at SBCC

The new school president talks about budget shortfalls and an accreditation warning. Read story.

Saturday, July 21, 2012

SBCC Parolee Class Wins Award

It doesn't take a Warren Buffett to quickly realize that it is less expensive for California to educate its citizens rather than imprison them. Read story.

Thursday, July 5, 2012

SBCC Cuts Jail Class, Mulls Adult Ed’s Future

Non-credit enrichment courses could be privately funded by the end of next year. Read story.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012