WEATHER »

Pedal On

Howard Booth has worked in education, the arts, and business for over 30 years. He bikes around Santa Barbara every day for errands, meetings, and pleasure.

Andie Bridges lives in Goleta with her husband, Dan, and their 2-year-old son, Alden. When not making macaroni art or eating Play-Doh, the Bridges can be found pedaling around town on adventures big and small. As a family, they strive to use the car less and pedal more.

Erika Lindemann was born and raised in Santa Barbara. and returned home after college to work in bicycle planning and promoting sustainable transportation. She now works for the Wilderness Youth Project but remains active in the bicycling community as an advocate and aficionado.

Pedaling at Night and When It’s Wet

Like the Invisible Man, Howard finds out being invisible isn't always so neat. Read story.

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

The Right Ride

How to find a bike that fits your style and budget. Read story.

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Jens Voigt Retires

Legendary cyclist stops by Bicycle Bob's on his farewell tour. Read story.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Former Foster Youth Get New Wheels

Guardian Scholars at UCSB receive bikes. Read story.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Park Your Bike at Bicycle-Friendly Businesses

New places spring up to park your bike as you shop, work, and eat around town. Read story.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Failing to Share the Road

Distracted driver in L.A. kills cyclist; deputy driving escapes prosecution. Read story.

Monday, October 6, 2014

Pedaling Safely in Our Communities

Active Transportation Grants recently went to both Goleta and Santa Barbara for bicycling and pedestrian improvements. Read story.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Biking Back to School

Anyone who's had to get a young child out the door in time for school will appreciate trading in a car-seat wrestling match for a cycling adventure. Read story.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Pedaling with a Helmet

Why did I decide to become a cutting-edge mushroom-headed cyclist? Read story.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Pedaling away from Parkinson’s

Research shows improved functioning in Parkinson’s patients who bike. Read story.

Monday, August 11, 2014

SoCal Hot Rod Pedaling

Pedal On remembers Ralph Fertig and some specialties coming from the Bicycle Coalition he founded. Read story.

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Summer Cycling Camp

Weeklong camp helps people with special needs learn to ride. Read story.

Monday, July 14, 2014

Parking a Bike in S.B.

City hopes to add bike corrals and another Bikestation. Read story.

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

A Passion for Pedaling

Despite the difficulties, most biking parents want to share the sport with their children. Read story.

Monday, June 16, 2014

Pedaling with Wings

Women are the new cycling majority and make up 60 percent of bicycle owners ages 17-28. Read story.

Tuesday, June 3, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: