WEATHER »

Matters of the Heart

Akivah Northern of Santa Barbara is a certified Family Wellness Trainer and holds a Masters in Divinity. Her biweekly column explores the deeper heart in all its dimensions. She welcomes heartfelt questions from readers of all ages. Reach her at mattersoftheheart@independent.com.

Contentment!

Satisfaction, cheerfulness, ease of mind, accepting things as they are? Sound like you or me? Read story.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

Matters of the Heart in Nigeria

Often we can catch a glimpse of the trajectory of our life and rejoice! Read story.

Sunday, March 23, 2014

What’s Your Story?

Stories reveal the deepest things in life; deep stories transcend life. Read story.

Sunday, February 23, 2014

How Deep Is Your Love?

Exploring from the shores to the sublime depths of love. Read story.

Sunday, February 9, 2014

It's a Matter of the Heart!

Why do we call someone a lover if they don’t love or we don’t love? Who were these people anyway? Read story.

Sunday, January 26, 2014

Love That Really Loves

Love that really loves comes in many different forms. Read story.

Sunday, January 12, 2014

What Do You Really Want?

If you could have anything in the world right now, what would it be? Read story.

Sunday, December 29, 2013

The Old, the New, and the Not-Yet-Already

Then there is the new of Christmas — the new robes for old wineskins covered with bright colors and wrapped in the wonder and glitter of our childhood dreams. Read story.

Sunday, December 15, 2013

Speaking the Language of Love

Thanksgiving is a time for giving thanks and speaking the Language of Love; like any other language, we need to be taught how to speak in loving ways. Read story.

Sunday, December 1, 2013

When to Love … and When to Run!

“Love cures — both the ones who give it and the ones who receive it.” —Dr. Karl Menninger Read story.

Sunday, November 17, 2013

Morning Glory Again

Hold on to the knowledge that as the rising sun chases away the night, hope follows despair. Read story.

Sunday, November 3, 2013

Letting Go and Holding On

Recently, I met some interesting couples who have married, divorced, and remarried again to the same person. Is it possible to let go and hold on at the same time? Read story.

Sunday, October 20, 2013

Let Not Your Hearts Be Troubled

The scientific evidence is in. There are enormous benefits to having a happy heart. Read story.

Sunday, October 6, 2013

Relationships Matter

Faithfulness in relationships can even be seen in the universe, as precise and predictable movements of the Earth around the Sun give us time, seasons, and celestial beauty. Read story.

Sunday, September 22, 2013

Sunsets and Serenity

What rhythm is your heart beating to today? Are you galloping with the wild horses of CNN or are your last nerves tried by the betrayal of a trusted relationship gone wrong? Read story.

Sunday, September 8, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: