WEATHER »

Jackalope

M.D. Harkins is a noted authority on small hand tools and Nuristani mating rituals. He has lived in such far-flung locales as Beirut, Lebanon, and Billings, Montana. He maintains the Enlightened Despot blog and has written one novel, Feast. He currently resides in a fortified compound near Isla Vista from which he serves up frequent slices of beachside life.

The Song Remains the Same

Curiously, the war on ISIS is funded on both sides by the same Gulf states. Read story.

Monday, September 29, 2014

Return to Isla Vista

“I played Brad Paisley!” he shouted indignantly. “I played Brad Paisley!” Read story.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Musselshell River

“Mike? What in the hell kind of name is that? French?” (It’s a curious fact that in Montana, virtually every male over the age of 50’s name is “Bill.”) Read story.

Friday, August 15, 2014

KBC Saturday

It was a calm, warm night in Kigali, and I was sitting out in front of the house with the Old Man. Read story.

Saturday, June 21, 2014

News from Across the World

One calm morning, a headline on the television news, here in Rwanda, pierced my soul. Read story.

Thursday, June 12, 2014

A Night with the Pashtuns of the American Kabul

And now, here I was, in the seat of Beaverhead County, Montana. Read story.

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

American Riviera

Truth has been weirder than fiction in Isla Vista lately. Read story.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Kigali Airport

Pushing through the sweaty hordes into the refreshingly humid and cool African night, I was immediately accosted by an emaciated, disheveled version of Arsenio Hall. Read story.

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Bizarre, Disheveled, and Fitting In

One of the biggest stages for indie rock in the world, Noise Pop included hefty doses of film and art. Read story.

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Skinny-Dipping

“And you can’t chicken out,” she said, giving me a terse look. Read story.

Monday, February 3, 2014

Tattoo You, Tattoo Me

First things first, I’ve got to choose location. All the real estate guides maintain that’s the most important thing. Read story.

Friday, January 24, 2014

Serious Bowling

Clyde emerged from the scrum wearing a grease-stained Ditch Witch trucker’s hat and a faded green shirt with “Rapelje Rockets” emblazoned across it. Read story.

Monday, January 6, 2014

Best Wishes, Phil Robertson

I’m not sure what’s worse, the fact that such a show exists or the fact that someone would actually watch it. Read story.

Thursday, January 2, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: