WEATHER »

In Print - A&E

Mad Caddies Return with Their First New Album in Seven Years

Following a botched recording session, the band returned home to Santa Ynez — and back to their original practice space — to make Dirty Rice. Read story.

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Tour Diary: Beware of Darkness

Frontman Kyle Nicolaides offers up some of his favorite pics from a year on the road. The band plays SOhO on May 1. Read story.

Thursday, May 1, 2014

The National Just Keeps Getting Better

The National plays the Santa Barbara Bowl on Friday, April 25. Read story.

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Becoming Flume

The Australian electronic artist headlines a show at Casa de la Raza on April 20. Read story.

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Interview: Chvrches

The Glasgow Chvrches trio headlines the Ventura Theater on April 15. Read story.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Baths Brings Obsidian to Life

A new band and darker sounds descend on Velvet Jones on April 5. Read story.

Thursday, April 3, 2014

Asif Ali Khan Makes His Santa Barbara Debut

Asif Ali Khan is bringing his ecstatic Sufi singing to UCSB’s Canpbell Hall on Thursday, April 3. Read story.

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Interview: Brett Dennen

The red-headed troubadour returns to the Lobero Theatre in support of his latest record, Smoke and Mirrors. Read story.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Little Wings Contemplates the End of the World

Kyle Field’s Little Wings headlines SOhO Restaurant & Music Club on March 19. Read story.

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Charles Lloyd Returns to the Lobero with Sangam

Through jazz, Vedanta, and beyond, woodwind master Charles Lloyd is still showing which way is east. Read story.

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Fatoumata Diawara Is Finding Freedom in Music

UCSB Arts & Lectures presents the actress and singer in concert on Thursday, February 27. Read story.

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Collecting Wes Anderson with Matt Zoller Seitz

The New York Magazine critic will discuss his new book, The Wes Anderson Collection, this Friday and Saturday in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Isla Vista Offers Some Serious Musical Surprises

Last week’s Jimmy Tamborello deejay set proved to be a cultural event worth writing home about. Read story.

Thursday, February 13, 2014

A New Album for Gardens & Villa

The Santa Barbara quintet hits the road again in support of their new sophomore release, Dunes. Read story.

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Opening Night Aims to Save the World

SBIFF 2014 Kicks Off with Documentary Mission Blue, a portrait of activist Sylvia Earle. Read story.

Thursday, January 30, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: