WEATHER »

Hiking the Backcountry

Boulder Canyon’s McGuire Spring (and Reyes Peak)

We planned two fairly easy day hikes to split up our time on the slopes of 6,600 ft. Pine Mountain (Boulder Canyon is on the north side) and neighboring Reyes Peak. Read story.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Hiking with Children

Get Your Kids Hiking: How to Start Them Young and Keep it Fun! speaks to the practical ways to inspire children to explore nature. Read story.

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Chorro Grande Springs and Reyes Peak

An all day 14-mile hike to 7,500 feet about sea level. Read story.

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Rattlesnake Canyon Loop

For those who want a challenging and different half-day workout, try my Rattlesnake-Tunnel bike/hike design. Read story.

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Mt. Pinos to Sawmill Peak

On the Vincent Tumamait Trail. Read story.

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Where Is Wildeor?

When summer strikes and scorches the Santa Barbara backcountry, then it’s time to head for the much higher Sierra Nevada range bisecting California. Read story.

Friday, July 26, 2013

Indian Creek Camp

A four-day box-canyon backpack to Indian Creek Camp. Read story.

Sunday, June 9, 2013

Indian Creek to Lower Buckhorn Camp

A rigorous dayhike skirting the boundary of the Dick Smith Wilderness. Read story.

Saturday, May 18, 2013

Solitaries, Hermits, and Backcountry Weirdos

Over the course 40 years of tramping around our nearby wilderness areas, I’ve encountered a number of refugees from “civilization.” Read story.

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Davy Brown Camp

Two day hikes with an evening interlude. Read story.

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Manzana Free Camp

A 3-day easy backpack into the San Rafael Wilderness Read story.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Madulce Camp Water-Madness

A moderate 14-mile roundtrip, plus an additional day hike, but beware the hot dry months! Read story.

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Gibraltar Dam Loop-hike

Where can we find some explanation for that incurable longing to get outside and beyond the lovely city where most of us live and flourish with our families? Read story.

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Blue Canyon Hike-Bike Loop

Less than an hour's drive from Montecito, cycle and walk all morning in wild beauty. Read story.

Sunday, December 2, 2012

Matilija North Fork Backpack

I recommend solitary ventures in the wild if you are fit, experienced, cautious, and eager for new inner and outer discoveries. Read story.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: