WEATHER »

Hiking the Backcountry

Indian Creek Camp

A four-day box-canyon backpack to Indian Creek Camp. Read story.

Sunday, June 9, 2013

Indian Creek to Lower Buckhorn Camp

A rigorous dayhike skirting the boundary of the Dick Smith Wilderness. Read story.

Saturday, May 18, 2013

Solitaries, Hermits, and Backcountry Weirdos

Over the course 40 years of tramping around our nearby wilderness areas, I’ve encountered a number of refugees from “civilization.” Read story.

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Davy Brown Camp

Two day hikes with an evening interlude. Read story.

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Manzana Free Camp

A 3-day easy backpack into the San Rafael Wilderness Read story.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Madulce Camp Water-Madness

A moderate 14-mile roundtrip, plus an additional day hike, but beware the hot dry months! Read story.

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Gibraltar Dam Loop-hike

Where can we find some explanation for that incurable longing to get outside and beyond the lovely city where most of us live and flourish with our families? Read story.

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Blue Canyon Hike-Bike Loop

Less than an hour's drive from Montecito, cycle and walk all morning in wild beauty. Read story.

Sunday, December 2, 2012

Matilija North Fork Backpack

I recommend solitary ventures in the wild if you are fit, experienced, cautious, and eager for new inner and outer discoveries. Read story.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Sisquoc River Scramble

Six days and five nights of strenuous backpacking, no layover days, river-walking the Sisquoc amid riparian splendor. Read story.

Monday, October 22, 2012

Southern Los Padres Trails Guidebook

A review of Craig Carey's Hiking & Backpacking Santa Barbara & Ventura. Read story.

Sunday, September 30, 2012

Gaviota Peak Dayhike

A three-hour loop hike starting and ending at Gaviota State Park, and very conducive to mindfulness. Read story.

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Dayhiking in Socialist Munich

Why do so many consider Munich especially nature-friendly? The celebrated, 910-acre Englischer Garten leads the list in a spectacular way. But that's not all. Read story.

Monday, August 13, 2012

White Ledge Solo Backpack

One way to reduce your civilized "needs" and wants is to go backpacking; and fetching even fewer things along for this five-day easy backpack intensifies the contrast. Read story.

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

39-mile Backpack Over Mission Pine Ridge

Or, how our backpacking columnist got lost in the woods and needed Search & Rescue. Read story.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: