WEATHER »

Hiking the Backcountry

Manzana Day Hike to 'Ray’s Camp'

A Los Padres forest camp spot is newly named for Ray Ford. Read story.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Cottam Camp Loop Day Hike

Drive along Gibraltar and East Camino Cielo to this trailhead down into Blue Canyon. Read story.

Friday, March 7, 2014

Alder Creek Camp and the Upper Franklin Trail

Dan and Chris hike and bike behind Carpinteria. Read story.

Saturday, February 8, 2014

‘Twin Perch’ Trail Frontside Loop

This six-mile hike to Twin Perch begins at Skofield Park. Read story.

Monday, January 20, 2014

Miracles at Raspberry Spring and Chorro Grande Trail

Marvels and miracles are all around us; we simply lose our concentration and miss the beauty for the omnipresent details. Read story.

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Arroyo Burro Front-Side Trail

The steep Arroyo Burro Front-Side Trail offers challenging hiking and yields terrific exhilaration when you finally hit the top. Read story.

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Boulder Canyon’s McGuire Spring (and Reyes Peak)

We planned two fairly easy day hikes to split up our time on the slopes of 6,600 ft. Pine Mountain (Boulder Canyon is on the north side) and neighboring Reyes Peak. Read story.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Hiking with Children

Get Your Kids Hiking: How to Start Them Young and Keep it Fun! speaks to the practical ways to inspire children to explore nature. Read story.

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Chorro Grande Springs and Reyes Peak

An all day 14-mile hike to 7,500 feet about sea level. Read story.

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Rattlesnake Canyon Loop

For those who want a challenging and different half-day workout, try my Rattlesnake-Tunnel bike/hike design. Read story.

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Mt. Pinos to Sawmill Peak

On the Vincent Tumamait Trail. Read story.

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Where Is Wildeor?

When summer strikes and scorches the Santa Barbara backcountry, then it’s time to head for the much higher Sierra Nevada range bisecting California. Read story.

Friday, July 26, 2013

Indian Creek Camp

A four-day box-canyon backpack to Indian Creek Camp. Read story.

Sunday, June 9, 2013

Indian Creek to Lower Buckhorn Camp

A rigorous dayhike skirting the boundary of the Dick Smith Wilderness. Read story.

Saturday, May 18, 2013

Solitaries, Hermits, and Backcountry Weirdos

Over the course 40 years of tramping around our nearby wilderness areas, I’ve encountered a number of refugees from “civilization.” Read story.

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Vaud and the Villains

This 19 piece 1930s New Orleans orchestra and cabaret will ... Read More