WEATHER »

Gangs in Santa Barbara

Gang Injunction Marshals On

The city’s quest for a gang injunction is likely headed toward a March trial date, a Santa Barbara judge and attorneys decided Monday. Read story.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Council Approves $67,000 for Gang Task Force

The City Council voted to pony up another $67,000 to help fund the South Coast Task Force on Youth Gangs for a second year. Read story.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Ringleader of Gang Attack Sentenced to Probation, Time Served

Defendant smiles as victim's mother delivers emotional statement. Read story.

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Ramos Found Guilty on Three Counts

Faces a maximum of 10 years in state prison. Read story.

Friday, July 29, 2011

Heroin, Handgun Trial Continues for Gang Injunction Target

Marcos Ramos charged with possession of controlled substance and .22 pistol. Read story.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Gang Members Receive Jail Time, Probation for Assault

Beat 16-year-old high school student with souvenir baseball bat. Read story.

Monday, July 18, 2011

Discussion and Drama at Gang Task Force Meeting

Gus Frias reports on his first half-year as coordinator. Read story.

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Gang Injunction Defendant Denied Counsel

A motion by Jonathan Alonzo—one of the defendants named in the proposed gang injunction—for appointment of counsel was denied Wednesday morning by Judge James Brown. Read story.

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Trio of Gang Members Sentenced for 2007 Murder

Judge hands down 26- and 15-year state prison terms. Read story.

Thursday, May 26, 2011

Bye-Bye, Ruben Mize

With Monday’s sentencing, the violent gangster will likely spend the rest of his life behind bars. Read story.

Monday, May 9, 2011

Older Mize Brother Sentenced

Robert Martinez, who turned against his younger brother Ruben Mize and testified in Mize’s murder trial, was sentenced to 36 months in federal prison as a result of a conviction resulting from Operation Gator Roll. Read story.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Gang Injunction Who’s Who

A glimpse at the bad and seemingly good. Read story.

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Gang Injunction Targets Speak Out, Part 3

In Youth CineMedia videos, they claim they were unfairly named in the city's filing. Read story.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Gang Prevention Coordinator Gives Talk

Coordinator says schools and police could cooperate better. Read story.

Thursday, March 31, 2011

Gang Injunction Targets Speak Out, Part 2

In Youth CineMedia videos, they claim they were unfairly named in the city's filing. Read story.

Friday, March 25, 2011

Vaud and the Villains

This 19 piece 1930s New Orleans orchestra and cabaret will ... Read More