WEATHER »

Gangs in Santa Barbara

Heated Debate Over Gang Injunction

Blank check, slippery slope, or another tool in toolbox? Read story.

Thursday, May 16, 2013

S.B. Dems Oppose Gang Injunction

Crime stats show gang activity dropped this year. Read story.

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Police Arrest Seven in Gang Sweep

Some charged with robbery, others with drug possession or parole violation. Read story.

Thursday, October 11, 2012

Gang Injunction Further Moth-Balled

Judge takes trial date off calendar to let City gather more information. Read story.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Group Takes Plea Deals in Gang-Related Stabbing Case

Their state prison sentences range from three years to 19 years. Read story.

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Gang Life Claims Two Brothers

Four men sentenced in fatal 4th of July stabbing case. Read story.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Suspected Gang Member Violates Bail Agreement

Augustine Cruz Jr. put back in jail after night of violent events. Read story.

Friday, May 11, 2012

Gang Injunction Trial Delayed Until October 1

A July trial date for the city’s proposed gang injunction has been abandoned to give city attorneys more time to petition the juvenile court for information. Read story.

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Two Suspected Gangmembers Arrested After Carjacking and Stabbing

Both men have extensive rap sheets; one is named in the city's proposed gang injunction. Read story.

Monday, April 30, 2012

Alleged Gang Fight Leads to Car Chase

Three suspects arrested; police continue investigation. Read story.

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Suspected Gang Members Attack Teen

Small knife used in assault on victim with no gang affiliation. Read story.

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Injunction Goes to Juvie

Judge's ruling creates major hurdle for city gang case. Read story.

Thursday, February 23, 2012

DA Strikes Plea Deal With July 4th Stabbing Suspects

Four Westside gangmembers will be sentenced to between 11 and 17 years in state prison. Read story.

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Is the Past Fair Game?

Concerns about juvenile records of gang injunction targets bog down case. Read story.

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Juvenile Files Still a Sticking Point

City and defense attorneys are at odds over gang injunction evidence. Read story.

Thursday, December 8, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: