WEATHER »

Gangs in Santa Barbara

Gangs from the Eastside, Westside, and beyond have been part of Santa Barbara for decades. But in recent years, the gang warfare - especially amongst teenagers - has escalated. This is the collection of Independent.com's gang coverage.

Judge Strikes Down Gang Injunction

Rules residents aren’t “prisoners in their own homes.” Read story.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Both Sides Score Points in Gang Injunction Trial

Closing arguments in the divisive criminal case are expected this week. Read story.

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Gang Injunction Trial Finally Underway

Attorneys argue over dots on a map and tools in the toolbox. Read story.

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Second Slander Claim Filed Against City and Cops

L.A. attorney says his clients were falsely and negligently accused of being gang members. Read story.

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Realtors Oppose Gang Injunction

Councilmember Gregg Hart also argues against the legal filing. Read story.

Thursday, February 27, 2014

ACLU Opposes Gang Injunction

Says it would restrict constitutionally protected behavior. Read story.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Getting Down with the Founder of Homeboy Industries

Father Greg Boyle will visit Santa Barbara on Thursday. Read story.

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Council Hears Tsunami of Criticism over Gang Injunction

Authorities argue action is needed to combat the Mexican Mafia. Read story.

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Is the Mexican Mafia Making Moves in Santa Barbara?

Police net dozens of arrests and charges during Operation Falling Dawn. Read story.

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Trial Date Set For Gang Injunction

The city's proposal will be heard in court mid-March. Read story.

Thursday, October 31, 2013

Gang Injunction, What's Your Function?

Pro-Youth Movement's fourth meeting focuses on the controversial proposal. Read story.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

J.P. Herrada Talks Gang Intervention

Palabra's jefe and police nemesis talks about street justice and what works with would-be gangsters. Read story.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

A Task Force with Teeth?

Anti-gang group tracks results from the trenches. Read story.

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Gang Injunction Clears Hurdle

Judge orders release of select juvenile records. Read story.

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Gangbuster or Gangbanger?

Arrest of Raymond Macias casts shadow on La Palabra. Read story.

Thursday, June 13, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: