WEATHER »

independent.com/crime

Trial Date Set For Gang Injunction

The city's proposal will be heard in court mid-March. Read story.

Thursday, October 31, 2013

Gang Injunction, What's Your Function?

Pro-Youth Movement's fourth meeting focuses on the controversial proposal. Read story.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

J.P. Herrada Talks Gang Intervention

Palabra's jefe and police nemesis talks about street justice and what works with would-be gangsters. Read story.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Motorist Spots Panga on Tajiguas Beach

Authorities find evidence of drug smuggling, but no suspects. Read story.

Monday, August 5, 2013

A Task Force with Teeth?

Anti-gang group tracks results from the trenches. Read story.

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Gang Injunction Clears Hurdle

Judge orders release of select juvenile records. Read story.

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 6/6 – 6/13

Mother has 30-year-old son arrested; skateboarder charged with welfare fraud. Read story.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Gangbuster or Gangbanger?

Arrest of Raymond Macias casts shadow on La Palabra. Read story.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 5/8 – 5/14

Fight erupts between Brophy Bros. staff and customers; Macy's thief chased down; woman steals father's truck after argument. Read story.

Friday, May 17, 2013

Heated Debate Over Gang Injunction

Blank check, slippery slope, or another tool in toolbox? Read story.

Thursday, May 16, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 4/2 – 4/8

Whiskey-drinking suspect 'chin-checks' assault victim; man flips table at Natural Cafe. Read story.

Friday, April 12, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 3/25 – 4/1

Musician/drug dealer runs from officers; car thief nabbed on Calle Real. Read story.

Originally published 3:00 p.m., April 4, 2013
Updated 12:00 p.m., April 5, 2013

Vintner's Mysterious Death Ruled a Suicide

Christopher Marks was found with a single gunshot wound to the head on beach in September 2012. Read story.

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Introducing The Independent's South Coast Crime Map

The interactive widget shows who, what, where, and when of recent arrests. Read story.

Monday, April 1, 2013

Robles Sentenced to Life in Prison Without Parole

Jury enters fourth day of deliberation in Ied murder trial. Read story.

Tuesday, March 26, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: