WEATHER »

independent.com/crime

Man Sentenced to Eight Years for Violent Assault on Two Women

Michael Stinchfield ​— ​who police said held two women against their will in his 1724 Garden Street home for hours as he physically assaulted them with a baseball bat and guitar strap ​— ​entered no-contest pleas to four felony charges this week and was sentenced to eight years in state prison. Read story.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Homeless Man Arrested for Raping 15-Year-Old

The victim reportedly accompanied the suspect to a house party where the assault occurred. Read story.

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Realtors Oppose Gang Injunction

Councilmember Gregg Hart also argues against the legal filing. Read story.

Thursday, February 27, 2014

Downtown Stabbing at Carrillo and Chapala

Police say the incident is likely gang-related. Read story.

Monday, February 3, 2014

Judge Rejects Rosemary Baugh Plea Deal

Said she was “outraged” by its leniency. Read story.

Friday, January 31, 2014

ACLU Opposes Gang Injunction

Says it would restrict constitutionally protected behavior. Read story.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Pair Arrested for October Rape

Suspects Ubaldo De La Cruz-Gonzalez and Carlos Rojas-Villafana were booked in jail on Friday. Read story.

Monday, January 27, 2014

Getting Down with the Founder of Homeboy Industries

Father Greg Boyle will visit Santa Barbara on Thursday. Read story.

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Council Hears Tsunami of Criticism over Gang Injunction

Authorities argue action is needed to combat the Mexican Mafia. Read story.

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Is the Mexican Mafia Making Moves in Santa Barbara?

Police net dozens of arrests and charges during Operation Falling Dawn. Read story.

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Trial Date Set For Gang Injunction

The city's proposal will be heard in court mid-March. Read story.

Thursday, October 31, 2013

Gang Injunction, What's Your Function?

Pro-Youth Movement's fourth meeting focuses on the controversial proposal. Read story.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

J.P. Herrada Talks Gang Intervention

Palabra's jefe and police nemesis talks about street justice and what works with would-be gangsters. Read story.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Motorist Spots Panga on Tajiguas Beach

Authorities find evidence of drug smuggling, but no suspects. Read story.

Monday, August 5, 2013

A Task Force with Teeth?

Anti-gang group tracks results from the trenches. Read story.

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Multicultural Craft Program: Japan

Join us for the first session of our multicultural craft ... Read More