WEATHER »

Health & Fitness

Avon Breast Cancer Walk

Santa Barbara hosts the Southern California event of the annual fundraiser, which also takes place in other cities throughout the country. Read story.

Monday, September 17, 2012

Feets of Fancy

Learning about forefoot running with Killer B Fitness. Read story.

Friday, August 31, 2012

Carrie Bissell Cares About Brain Injury Survivors

The new director of Jodi House, together with Cottage’s Rehabilitation Hospital and Coast Care Giver Resource Center, aims to help survivors. Read story.

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Dense Breasts

The kind of personal breast exam that women are encouraged to perform every month is not sufficient to figure out one's density, according to Santa Barbara radiologist Judy Dean. Read story.

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Ira Israel on Yoga, Meditation, and Happiness

The renowned teacher and psychotherapist will host his popular Yoga and Mindfulness for Authentic Relationships workshop on July 21. Read story.

Friday, July 13, 2012

Grapeseed Co.

The S.B.-based company specializing in vinotherapy skin-care products opens its second area shop. Read story.

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

RussaYog

For the past two-and-a-half years, Diana Charles — who has multiple sclerosis — has been doing one-on-one training sessions at RussaYog, an S.B. yoga studio that adds ropes to the traditional practice. Read story.

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Santa Barbara’s Own Aikido Master

Lia Suzuki operates a premium martial arts dojo minutes away from Stearns Wharf. Read story.

Monday, June 11, 2012

Los Prietos Gets CrossFit

Last week, the trainers from CrossFit Pacific Coast taught delinquent teens how to exercise. Read story.

Saturday, June 9, 2012

Say Om to a Greener Yoga Mat Cleaner

The Matsana sanitizer uses a germ-killing, high-powered UV light for quick and effective cleansing. Read story.

Saturday, June 2, 2012

Say Hi to Super Sandbag

Weights are expensive, but sand isn't, so try out this new exercise regime. Read story.

Thursday, May 31, 2012

A Relaxing Reset

Santa Barbara craniosacral therapist Paul Brown explains how his energy work promotes self-healing. Read story.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Friends via Fitness

The Friday Fitness and Fun program helps teens make friends and get fit. Read story.

Monday, May 21, 2012

Female Fitness

Huang’s club, with its collection of member-donated sporting memorabilia, is a response to the insolent tone of women’s spaces in gyms. Read story.

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Combating Chiari

Because the symptoms are common and can easily be recognized as expressions of other illnesses, the illness is often disregarded and thus misdiagnosed. Read story.

Tuesday, January 10, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: