WEATHER »

Gardening

Gardening: Friendly Fungi

Many mushrooms benefit plants by forming bonds with trees and shrubs, helping them absorb hundreds of times more water than they would normally. Read story.

Friday, March 14, 2014

Gardening: The Perfect Cut

When it comes to cutting and clipping, the right tool is essential, and the most important feature is a sharp blade. Read story.

Saturday, March 1, 2014

Gardening: Drought

California is not only affected by climate change due to greenhouse-gas buildup, but it is also entering a historic dry cycle. Read story.

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Gardening: February Tips

With the weird/warm/cold warm winter weather we’ve been having, it won’t hurt to prune deciduous trees that haven’t been done yet. Read story.

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Gardening: Which Flowers Say ‘Be Mine’?

For the shy or the confident, Valentine’s Day may be an opportunity to show your true feelings without words. Read story.

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Aloe Time

Native to the dry habitats in Africa, aloes come in a staggering variety of shapes and sizes. Read story.

Monday, January 20, 2014

Gardening: The Fiery Poinsettia

The Ecke family started growing poinsettias on their ranch in the early 1900s, and by 1920 they were seriously promoting them as the official holiday flower. Read story.

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Gardening: Winter Stars

Cabbages and kales, ornamental or edible, thrive in the coming cool weather. Read story.

Monday, December 9, 2013

Gardening: December Duties

If there is some time to spend in the garden, there are little chores that will lend satisfaction and maybe ease a little of the holiday stress, too. Read story.

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Plant Rotations

Dance is not the only venue where separating and taking a new stance can be enjoyable and fruitful; gardens can benefit from a spin now and then, too. Read story.

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Mighty Marigolds

While there are references in Aztec history to the marigold as a cure for hiccups or to protect from lightening strikes, it was more highly regarded for its decorative value. Read story.

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

It’s Really Fall

Here’s a short list of possible tasks and other chores to look to in the coming weeks. Read story.

Saturday, October 19, 2013

Historic Flame Tree

It is a very old specimen of a rare hybrid that was growing in the former site of one of Francesco Franceschi’s nurseries. Read story.

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Art Deco Flowers

The bromeliad plant family outdoes itself with amazing color combinations in many of its flowers. Read story.

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Fiddleheads

As in any family, there are the stars and the black sheep of this hairy genus. Read story.

Tuesday, August 27, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: