WEATHER »

Eye on Isla Vista

Trouble in Isla Vista

Cat Neushul is feeling like Michael Corleone these days. Read story.

Monday, August 11, 2014

Isla Vista's Singularity

Many signs for many years pointed to the fact that things were getting out of hand in Isla Vista. Read story.

Monday, July 28, 2014

A Chance for Change

In Isla Vista, the status quo is no longer accepted. Read story.

Sunday, July 13, 2014

Combating Homelessness with Hard Facts

C3H works with city and county officials, service providers, law enforcement, and NGOs to seek effective ways to solve homelessness. Read story.

Monday, June 30, 2014

The Give Sale Gives Back

As UCSB students graduate, move, and head out into the real world, they leave a lot of good stuff behind. Read story.

Monday, June 23, 2014

Addressing Mental Health Issues

Using a recent $11 million grant, the county will create crisis teams. Read story.

Monday, June 9, 2014

When an Elementary School Goes on Lockdown

One of the things parents don’t want to ever hear is that their child’s school is under lockdown. Read story.

Monday, May 26, 2014

Time for Change in I.V.

Party reputation drawing predators; take responsibility, Isla Vista. Read story.

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Speech Is Free, Sometimes

The incident between the associate professor and the anti-abortion protester has given everyone a crash course in free speech. Read story.

Monday, April 28, 2014

Have We Had Enough Deltopia Yet?

Just a little more than a week ago, Isla Vista felt like a war zone during what is being called a riot. Read story.

Monday, April 14, 2014

The Community Spirit in Isla Vista

I.V.'s desperate need for a place where people can meet to discuss ideas, hold classes, or celebrate a special event is on the road to happening. Read story.

Monday, March 24, 2014

Doing Something About Rape in Isla Vista and UCSB

From increased police presence to more sexual assault counseling and training, Isla Vista and UCSB are responding to recent brutal attacks. Read story.

Monday, March 10, 2014

Downtown Isla Vista Gets an Urban Feel

As new businesses move in, the ambiance is becoming a little different, more vibrant. Read story.

Monday, February 24, 2014

It’s So Very, Very Dry

Climate change and drought data are gathered at Coal Oil Point. Read story.

Monday, February 10, 2014

Silent Film Speaks to Me

Contrary to expectations, Safety Last! proves laugh-out-loud funny. Read story.

Monday, January 27, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: