WEATHER »

Starshine

Men Are Going Bare. Down There.

An increasing number of men — from pubescent teens to been-around-the-block bachelors — are going utterly hairless in their private regions. Read story.

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Transgender Students

A new California law will allow K-12 public-school students to use restrooms and join sports teams based not on their sex — but on their gender identity. Read story.

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Best Part of Parenting: The Music

Our columnist relishes in her kids discovering, and loving, her tunes. Read story.

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Happy Amnesia-versary

When it comes to celebrating wedding anniversaries, there are two types of wife: needy and laissez-faire. Read story.

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Shopping for Stun Guns

The only thing worse than an angry woman is an angry woman who’s armed. Read story.

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Surf Lesson

It would be romantic to say it took 40 years to get me to climb onto a surfboard. But the truth is it took only two words. Read story.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Selling Used Pregnancy Tests?

Pregnant women across the nation are posting ads on Craigslist offering to sell positive pregnancy tests to anyone who, um, needs one. Read story.

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Trashing Junior High

Trash Can Days is a young-adult novel loosely based on the S.B. author’s own years at Santa Barbara Junior High. Read story.

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

PMS: A Safety Guide for Men

I’m going to offer men advice for surviving this bumpy patch with any woman who is riding the prickly premenstrual pony. Read story.

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Kids Left in Cars

Every year in this country, about 20 infants and young children die after being accidentally left in a car. Read story.

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Teenage Summer Views

Hi. Judging by my one-word lead, you probably know that this is not Starshine. My name is Stone, and I am Ms. Roshell’s oldest son. Read story.

Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Lines ’n’ Lies at Disney

Recent stories exposed a disturbing trend: families hiring disabled tour guides to escort them through the theme parks so they can skip to the front of ride lines. Read story.

Thursday, June 20, 2013

Lines ’n’ Lies at Disney

Recent stories exposed a disturbing trend: families hiring disabled tour guides to escort them through the theme parks so they can skip to the front of ride lines. Read story.

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Atheists Saved!

For a brief moment last week, I was saved — and as an atheist, that was new for me. Read story.

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

No, I Won’t Go to Your Kid’s Show

There are parents who feel compelled to attend other people’s children’s events, and those who think that’s whack. Read story.

Thursday, May 23, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: