WEATHER »

Starshine

Dating a Musician? I Recommend Bass Players

I’ve dated a lot of musicians. And if you’re looking for a band member who can make your soul wail a power ballad, there’s no better choice than a bass player. Read story.

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Plan B Partners

A Daily Mail survey revealed that half of married women have a “fall-back partner” in mind just in case their marriages go south. Read story.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Welcome to Parenting

Having kids is, in every way imaginable, an extreme sport. Read story.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

’80s Dancing Is the Only Tolerable Workout

Keep your CrossFit; I want to bust out the Belinda. Read story.

Friday, October 10, 2014

Pray Tell: The Hocus Pocus of Happy Thoughts

I’ve never understood prayer. Don’t know the point of it, how it’s accomplished, or what the word means exactly. Read story.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Women’s Bits

I learned that a survey of 1,000 British women revealed that only half of those aged 26-35 were able to correctly identify the vagina on a simple diagram. Read story.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Road Hazards: Driving with My Teen

I’m given to pondering the great questions of life, like why in Saab’s name are 15-year-olds allowed to operate moving vehicles on public roadways? Read story.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Too Old for a Micro-Mini?

We lamb- dressers aren’t trying to compete with twentysomethings or to fool anyone into thinking we’re younger. Read story.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Let It Go? We're Trying

Starshine ponders the hoarding tendencies of her youngest son. Read story.

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Wife-Carrying: An Actual Thing

Wife-carrying is the preposterous sport in which men race through an obstacle course while toting their dead-weight spouses on their backs or shoulders. Read story.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Ms. Roshell Goes to Washington

The Tinsel-Town tourist revels in her own reverence, confessing that our nation’s capital is more dazzling than the Sunset Strip. Read story.

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Stone Starts Driving

When I backed out of my driveway and entered into the real world of driving, I was like a small, fluffy bunny in a pit of angry, rabid Rottweilers. Read story.

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Are You a Feminist NOW?

Across the world, young women are being kidnapped, raped, and shot to death while pursuing an education. Read story.

Wednesday, June 4, 2014

The Sting of the Strikeout

It turns out that even Hall of Famers strike out 70 percent of the time, but the statistic doesn’t soothe me. Why are we asking 8-year-olds to do the near impossible? Read story.

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Where Does the Story End?

Last month was the first time in our 10-year history that our book club just sort of didn’t meet. Read story.

Wednesday, May 7, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: