WEATHER »

Santa Barbara Media Blog

Contract Dispute Over Indy Ownership

Editor-in-chief files breach of contract lawsuit last week against publisher in attempt to buy newspaper. Read story.

Saturday, February 13, 2010

Have You Heard the Latest?

Lanz-Mateo fired, News-Press hiring, and other news about news as Santa Barbara Media Blog makes a comeback. Read story.

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Media Blog Keeps Eyes and Ears Open

This week we take a look at goofed reporting, county line confusion, and golf course critiques. Read story.

Friday, January 1, 2010

KJEE Morning Show Signing Off

Locally owned station to bring in L.A.-based syndication; Spencer moves to The Vibe 103.3 FM. Read story.

Thursday, December 31, 2009

Santa Barbara Media Blog Returns

Welcome to our weekly rundown of ups and downs for print, radio, TV, and online. Read story.

Saturday, December 19, 2009

"People Want This Content"

Newspaper experts discuss future of journalism at jam-packed Wednesday forum. Read story.

Friday, June 19, 2009

Jerry Roberts Beating Wendy McCaw

News-Press owner's attorneys seek new arbitrator after first one rules in former editor's favor. Read story.

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

News-Press' Don Katich Explains Lay-Offs

Daily paper's director of news operations discusses December 3 cuts, closure of Goleta Valley Voice. Read story.

Thursday, December 4, 2008

Wendy McCaw Shuts Down Goleta Valley Voice

News-Press owner kills weekly Goleta paper in latest round of cutbacks. Read story.

Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Santa Barbara and News-Press Ownership Settle Lawsuit

City agrees Brown Act violations may have occurred; no fines involved. Read story.

Originally published 2:54 p.m., October 28, 2008
Updated 10:44 a.m., October 29, 2008

Teamsters, News-Press Trade Grievances

Complaints lodged about firing of sportswriter Dennis Moran, anti-NP campaigning. Read story.

Thursday, September 4, 2008

Fired Reporters Denied Immediate Reinstatement at News-Press

The May 22 decision is the biggest courthouse win yet for Santa Barbara's troubled daily newspaper. Read story.

Wednesday, May 28, 2008

Independent.com Wins the EPpy

Independent.com named best weekly newspaper website in the country. Read story.

Thursday, May 15, 2008

News-Press Axes Ten

Layoffs include sports editor Barry Punzal (pictured), who'd been with the paper 25 years. Read story.

Thursday, May 1, 2008

Independent.com Nominated as Best Weekly Website

Editor & Publisher and Mediaweek nominate this site as one of the best in the country. Our publisher comments. Read story.

Tuesday, April 29, 2008
event calendar sponsored by: