WEATHER »

John Zant

Muscle Beach Memories

Santa Barbaran Steve Morris honors the iconic weight-lifting hot spot with a garage full of memorabilia. Read story.

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Sports: S.B. Foresters

The S.B. Foresters Have the California Collegiate League’s Best Record for the 18th Time in 20 Years. Read story.

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Sports: Sam Cathcart Turns 90

S.B. football coach reminisced about his life in sports and the time he faced death and destruction in World War II. Read story.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Sports: Peak Performances

S.B. Track Club stars score big in the heptathlon and decathlon at the U.S.A. Track & Field Championships. Read story.

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Fútbol Musings

Some thoughts about the World Cup and a few other things. Read story.

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

World Cup Update

Californian Chris Wondolowski helps the U.S. keep on keeping on in the Group of Death. Read story.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

World Cup Week One

S.B. soccer fans go wild after the stunning 2-1 victory by the U.S. over Ghana on Monday in the opening round of the World Cup. Read story.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

The World Cup

How far will the U.S. soccer team go, and what some S.B. international students have to say about their country’s team. Read story.

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Hoop Heroes

Past and present basketball superstars in the community “who have achieved and/or made significant contributions to the game of basketball” are honored at the Court of Champions dinner. Read story.

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Baseball Viewing Shutout

SportsNet LA is the exclusive TV outlet for more than 140 Dodgers games this season. Read story.

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Sports Roundup

John Zant talks volleyball, Amgen, basketball, and S.B. Athletic Round Table Hall of Famers. Read story.

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

UCSB’s Shyan Vaziri Owns the Track

The Gaucho junior’s progress to elite status in the 1,500 did not come overnight. “You build your aerobic base over time,” he said. Read story.

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Star Athletes: Stamatia Scarvelis and Shane Hauschild

Stamatia Scarvelis and Shane Hauschild have secured their legacy as two of the best athletes to come out of Santa Barbara and Goleta. Read story.

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Amgen Tour Comes to Town

The cycling race covers more than 700 miles in eight stages and bills itself as “America’s Greatest Race.” Read story.

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

The Voice of the Gauchos

S.B. Sports Writer Philip Patton will be inducted into the Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame on Saturday, April 26. Read story.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: