WEATHER »

Behind the Bars

An occasional series profiling the bars, bartenders, and bar-goers of Santa Barbara.

The Pickle Room

Getting pickled in home of former Jimmy's Oriental Gardens on Canon Perdido Street. Read story.

Friday, March 7, 2014

Figueroa Mountain Brewery

Tasting together in the Funk Zone. Read story.

Friday, January 31, 2014

Restaurant Roy

A swanky hideaway for artists and intellectuals with imperial tastes. Read story.

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Review: The Sportsman

Let the games begin Read story.

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Bar Review: Dargan’s

I fell clumsily into a stool and ordered a Guinness. I needed a drink. Read story.

Friday, November 8, 2013

Reds

Regulation and rebellion in the Funk Zone. Read story.

Friday, October 18, 2013

The Brewhouse

Santa Barbara’s Twist on “Comfort” Read story.

Friday, October 4, 2013

Tiburon Tavern

A warm little dive with nothing to prove. Read story.

Friday, September 20, 2013

The Press Room

The place to watch football matches with fellow die-hards and listen to classic punk – live or juke – in an intimate setting Read story.

Friday, September 13, 2013

Sandbar

A night at the Sandbar inspires personal reflection. Read story.

Friday, September 6, 2013

Old King’s Road

What it means to be a bar. Read story.

Friday, August 30, 2013

The Wildcat

Gay Night at the Kitty Read story.

Friday, August 23, 2013

Seven

Home of the Funk Zone Renaissance Read story.

Friday, August 16, 2013

Harry’s Plaza Cafe

The Liquor Cabinet in the Family Room Read story.

Friday, August 9, 2013

Uptown Lounge

Reading a Bildungsroman in a Bar Read story.

Saturday, August 3, 2013

Regina Carter

"Southern Comfort" marks a transition from the exploration of her ... Read More