WEATHER »

Visual Arts

Street Art on Instagram

Santa Barbara native Esther Tran Le has turned walking in New York into a curatorial position. Read story.

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Review: Left Coast at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art

This exciting exhibit showcases the SBMA’s recent acquisitions in contemporary art and photography. Read story.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Summer Arts Preview: Visual Art

The Santa Barbara Museum of Art has been shopping, and its impressive haul in contemporary art can be seen all summer. Read story.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

The End of AMASS?

The murals at the corner of Mason and Helena will be refreshed once more before the building there is demolished. Read story.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Review: Perseverance at the Japanese American National Museum

This exhibition traces the Japanese practice of irezumi from its roots in the Edo period to its latest incarnations in America. Read story.

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Review: Mike Kelley at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles

After a world tour, the blockbuster Mike Kelley show comes home to MOCA. Read story.

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Review: Drawings by Beatrice Wood at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art

Although her ceramics made her famous, Beatrice Wood never stopped drawing, or causing trouble. Read story.

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Lizard’s Mouth Gets Yarnbombed

Santa Barbara yarnbomber Stephen Duneier will “wrap” the natural landscape in rainbow hues for his yearly art installation. Read story.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Preview: Building Communities at MCASB

Part retrospective, part new project, Building Communities takes a collaborative approach to contemporary art. Read story.

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Review: Jade Doskow at wall space gallery

New York–based photographer Jade Doskow presented her world’s fair project in a talk at the wall space gallery on Saturday, April 19. Read story.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Artists Working Together

Three very different collaborations demonstrate the range of our city’s art scene. Read story.

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Richard Haines at Sullivan Goss

Richard Haines’s art affords invaluable insight into the larger issues raised by a popular retro style of design. Read story.

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Review: Chris Baker Pacific

In Pacific, Chris Baker puts Rembrandt’s Night Watch through an amazing series of variations. Read story.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Spring Arts Preview: Visual Arts

Going to the gallery or the museum has never been so stimulating or unexpected as it will be this spring. Read story.

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Ganna Walska and Tony Duquette

Lotusland is uniquely idiosyncratic, but Madame Ganna Walska did have some visionary company. Read story.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: