WEATHER »

Theater

Shakespeare on the Beach

This ambitious young company will give Santa Barbara its first taste of Shakespeare on the beach from August 20-23. Read story.

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Circle Bar B Dinner Theatre to Close

With the Ranch looking for a new business model, this long-running theater institution faces a major transition if it is to survive. Read story.

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Review: Mermaid’s Tale at the New Vic

A lack of direction and cohesion resulted in big problems for this one-weekend-only production. Read story.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Review: The Odyssey Project at Center Stage Theater

Juvenile offenders and UCSB students interpreted Homer on Sunday, August 3. Read story.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Broadway in Santa Barbara

Theater League will present Camelot, Guys and Dolls, Chicago, and Stomp at the Granada this season. Read story.

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Circle Bar B Theatre Closing

The popular dinner-plus-play program will end this fall after 40 years on the Gaviota Coast. Read story.

Originally published 2:15 p.m., August 1, 2014
Updated 10:28 a.m., August 6, 2014

Ojai Playwrights Conference Expands the Range of Theater

Eight of the best playwrights in America will converge on Ojai this weekend and next for an intensive conference culminating in a series of new, public play workshops. Read story.

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Review: Title and Deed at Rubicon Theatre

This new comic monologue explored the concept of homeland on Thursday, July 24. Read story.

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Review: Ghetto at Center Stage Theater

Theater in the Jewish ghetto of Vilna is the setting for Joshua Sobol’s play about the survival of the spirit. Read story.

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Review: Orlando at Casa Esperanza

Elements Theatre Collective confronts the mystery of identity with fantasy and farce. Read story.

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Get Whisked Away by Enchanted April

Circle Bar B Dinner Theatre presents this new theatrical adaptation. Read story.

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Review: Five Women Wearing the Same Dress at Plaza Playhouse Theater

This play about Southern bridesmaids from the creator of Six Feet Under plays through July 27. Read story.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Review: Music Academy’s Festival Orchestra at the Granada Theatre

Winning soloists on horn, violin, and piano were featured on Saturday, July 19 Read story.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Greek Comedy in Elings Park

UpStage Left presents this new production of Aristophanes’s battle of the sexes at Elings Park. Read story.

Friday, July 18, 2014

Bringing Ghetto to Life

Joshua Sobol’s carnivalesque show asks big questions about the Holocaust. Read story.

Thursday, July 17, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: