WEATHER »

Jazz

Dianne Reeves

Dianne Reeves delivered an exemplary evening of contemporary jazz on Friday as the second performer in this year’s Jazz at the Lobero series. Read story.

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Jazz Near and North

The Monterey Jazz Festival was on form this year with a new commission from guitarist Bill Frisell. Read story.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Santa Barbara City College Teams Up with Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra

Acclaimed musicians Wynton Marsalis and Ted Nash will lead the six-week summer jazz intensive which launches in 2013. Read story.

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Jazz on the Calendar

Pat Metheny, Wynton Marsalis, Brad Mehldau, and The Bad Plus are all coming to Santa Barbara in the 2012-13 season. Read story.

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Summer Arts Preview 2012: Pop, Rock & Jazz

This season’s live music highlights include shows from Twin Shadow, Tangerine Dream, and Norah Jones. Read story.

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Evan Christopher at the Luke

Evan Christopher gave an informative and soulful concert at the Marjorie Luke Theater on Monday, June 11. Read story.

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Opera and Esperanza

Opera Santa Barbara and UCSB Opera Theatre will present baroque operas on successive weekends this May. Read story.

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Charles Lloyd New Quartet at the Lobero

The sax master explored the music of Greece in this concert that featured both a singer and a lyre player. Read story.

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

From Greenwich Village to SOhO

Trumpeting crooner Nate Birkey heads from his home in Harlem to Santa Barbara's top jazz venue on March 28. Read story.

Sunday, March 25, 2012

Tierney Sutton Coming to the Lobero

Tierney Sutton loves the Lobero, and the feeling is mutual. Read story.

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Fringe Beat

Choral music of many centuries will be performed all over town this week. Read story.

Friday, March 2, 2012

Jazz Violinist Regina Carter

Jazz violinist and MacArthur grant recipient Regina Carter will perform with her group Reverse Thread at the Lobero Theatre on Friday, February 24. Read story.

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

NAMM Time, Plus Upcoming Jazz

The annual music convention known as NAMM could have been renamed “iNAMM” this year after all the Apple-friendly products on display. Read story.

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Preservation Hall Jazz Band

As the new documentary about the Preservation Hall Jazz Band screens at the Film Festival, the live band will hit the stage at UCSB. Read story.

Monday, January 30, 2012

Did You Ever Miss New Orleans?

Two Events Bring the Big Easy to UCSB. Read story.

Monday, January 16, 2012

Vaud and the Villains

This 19 piece 1930s New Orleans orchestra and cabaret will ... Read More