WEATHER »

Jazz

Santa Barbara Jazz Society Presents Wesla Whitfield

The acclaimed cabaret singer will revive the Great American Songbook on September 7 at SOhO. Read story.

Thursday, September 4, 2014

Lotusland Presents Meklit

Ethiopian-American singer/songwriter Meklit Hadero will appear with her quartet on the Main Lawn at Lotusland on Saturday, August 16. Read story.

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Nate Birkey Celebrates New Album at SOhO

The jazz trumpeter gets back to his roots on Just a Closer Walk. Read story.

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Charles Lloyd Named NEA Jazz Master

The Santa Barbara-based flautist, saxophone player, and composer was awarded one of the nation's top honors in jazz on Wednesday, June 25. Read story.

Friday, June 27, 2014

Review: New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival

Tom Long provides pics and stories from four long, music-filled days in the Big Easy. Read story.

Friday, May 23, 2014

Review: Branford Marsalis Quartet at the Lobero Theatre

The eldest Marsalis son brought a great quartet and a brilliant young drummer to town. Read story.

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Sam Yahel’s Showstopper Moment

Regina Carter returns to the Lobero; Sings Like Hell welcomes Ariana Gillis. Read story.

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Review: Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra at the Arlington Theatre

Wynton Marsalis and the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra went to bat for education and the arts. Read story.

Monday, March 24, 2014

The Lobero Is Making Up for Lost Time

Post-renovation, the Lobero Theatre’s Jazz at the Lobero series is making up for lost time. Read story.

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Anat Cohen and the Joy of Jazz

The Israeli clarinetist and saxophonist talks music-making in anticipation of Now 60’s performance at the Lobero Theatre. Read story.

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Charles Lloyd Returns to the Lobero with Sangam

Through jazz, Vedanta, and beyond, woodwind master Charles Lloyd is still showing which way is east. Read story.

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Pat Metheny’s Unity Factor

Joe talks Metheny, Fatoumata Diawara, and the 2014 NAMM Convention. Read story.

Thursday, February 20, 2014

The Jazz Experiment at the Marquee

Craig Springer of the Granada and David Grossman of the Santa Barbara Symphony moonlight as jazz musicians. Read story.

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Review: SFJAZZ Collective at UCSB’s Campbell Hall

Egos took a back-seat to sophisticated charts and uber instrumental finesse on October 17. Read story.

Monday, October 21, 2013

SFJAZZ X 10

Currently in its 10th year of existence, the SFJAZZ Collective is the West Coast’s premier modern jazz group. Read story.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: