WEATHER »

Fringe Beat

Fringe Beat

Choral music of many centuries will be performed all over town this week. Read story.

Friday, March 2, 2012

NAMM Time, Plus Upcoming Jazz

The annual music convention known as NAMM could have been renamed “iNAMM” this year after all the Apple-friendly products on display. Read story.

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Harmonic Convergence

SBIFF serves up a great array of interesting music movies and related events. Read story.

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Fringe Beat

Fringe catches up with early 2012. Read story.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Fringe Beat Listomania

As the year turns, the mind reels back, especially for those of us synched to the clock and calendar as cultural obsessives trying to make sense of a given year gone by. Read story.

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Berlin Enchantment

Fringe Beat ranges worldwide this week, in search of authentic experiences of the architectural and musical kinds. Read story.

Monday, December 5, 2011

New Noise and Sings Like Hell

New Noise takes over downtown while Hell raises itself at the Lobero. Read story.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Where the World and the ‘Hood Connect

Santa Barbara imports and sometimes exports some of the world’s most eclectic music. Read story.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Where the World and the ’Hood Connect

Santa Barbara imports and sometimes exports some of the world’s most eclectic music. Read story.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

The Gary Burton New Quartet at the Lobero

Legendary vibist Gary Burton’s New Quartet includes the young guitar phenom Julian Lage. Read story.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Grounds for Jazz Uplift

Josef Woodard ventures up the Coast for one of the world’s premiere and most highly anticipated jazz festivals. Read story.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Guelph Jazz Festival

The Guelph Jazz Festival is going strong on the fringe element, while Monterey is coming up this weekend. Read story.

Friday, September 16, 2011

Space Was the Place

Sun Ra’s Space Probe recalls a historic close encounter with the Arkestra at Miraflores. Read story.

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

The Summer That Just Was

Anticipated highlights and some surprises made 2011 one of Santa Barbara’s best summers for music ever. Read story.

Thursday, September 1, 2011

Marcus Miller, Theo Saunders

Marcus Miller’s new album is his best, and pianist Theo Saunders, late of the 805, also has a new one. Read story.

Friday, August 26, 2011

Vaud and the Villains

This 19 piece 1930s New Orleans orchestra and cabaret will ... Read More