WEATHER »

Film

SBIFF to Honor Steve Carell

The Office star will appear in Santa Barbara on Friday, February 6 as part of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival. Read story.

Monday, November 17, 2014

Review: Big Hero 6

This is the first spawn of the unholy marriage between Disney and Marvel Comics, and without a doubt, it wears the shared DNA on its cartoon sleeves. Read story.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Review: Interstellar

Christopher Nolan’s latest is a spectacularly mind-bending, affecting space opus with epic ambitions. Read story.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Review: Nightcrawler

Jake Gyllenhaal proves that he shines his brightest when he’s channeling the unstable and morally depraved. Read story.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Review: Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

The reason to love this film lies almost completely in its performances. Read story.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

War Vets Find Peace in Farming

Ojai documentarian Dulanie Ellis discusses her Ground Operations film and movement. Read story.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Review: The Blue Room

This stunning, stylish French thriller falls short in its final moments. Read story.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Review: White Bird in a Blizzard

You want Blizzard to spiral out into an Unsolved Mysteries–style suburban whodunnit, but instead we get an hour of confused hardheartedness. Read story.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

The Awakened World International Film Fest Debuts

This first-ever event is bringing some of Santa Barbara’s stars into the spotlight. Read story.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Review: Fury

Great war movies ride a razor’s edge, the thin line between exhilaration and horror, and this movie does that well. Read story.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Review: Last Days in Vietnam

Rory Kennedy’s profusely illustrative documentary makes some sense of the tragic farce that was the Vietnam War. Read story.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Review: The Judge

The Judge flops in spite of its A-List cast. Read story.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Review: Pride

Bill Nighy and Imelda Staunton star in this uplifting film about an unlikely union. Read story.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Review: The Green Prince

WT: Director Nadav Schirman’s documentary uncovers the story of Mosab Hassan Yousef, the son of a Hamas leader who spent 10 years spying for the other side. Read story.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Review: Gone Girl

David Fincher’s latest isn’t flashy style like the Coen brothers, but it glows like a dream. Read story.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: