WEATHER »

Film

Review: The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

The third Hobbit may be the best yet, but it could still benefit from some serious editing. Read story.

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Review: Wild

Cheryl Strayed’s best-selling memoir makes it to the big screen and lives up to its source material to boot. Read story.

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

SBIFF Names Cinema Vanguard Honorees

Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones to be honored. Read story.

Monday, December 15, 2014

SBIFF Names Riviera, Virtuoso Honorees

The Santa Barbara International Film festival unveiled its next wave of award recipients this week. Read story.

Friday, December 12, 2014

Review: Horrible Bosses 2

Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis, and Charlie Day reprise their roles as three hapless disgruntled employees—except this time, the script’s not funny. Read story.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Review: Antarctica: A Year on Ice

This look at life in Antarctica was 10 years in the making. Read story.

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Review: The Imitation Game

Benedict Cumberbatch stars in this good (not great) Hollywood film about the growing pains of a genius. Read story.

Monday, December 8, 2014

Film Festival Scores $15,000 Grant

SBIFF was recognized by the National Endowment for the Arts. Read story.

Monday, December 8, 2014

Review: Foxcatcher

Steve Carell turns in a career-defining performance as real-life millionaire John du Pont. Read story.

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Review: The Homesman

Hilary Swank and Tommy Lee Jones play unlikely sympathizers in this brutal drama about life in the 1800s American frontier. Read story.

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1

Jennifer Lawrence steals the show in this otherwise plodding lead up to the franchise’s finale. Read story.

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Review: The Theory of Everything

A smart script, powerful performances, and artful direction round out this heartfelt, original Stephen Hawking biopic. Read story.

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Granada Film Series Celebrates Soundtracks

Paul Williams hosts this series, which begins with To Kill a Mockingbird on November 24. Read story.

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Review: Diplomacy

Volker Schlöndorff’s film succeeds, thanks to two fine actors engaging that premier WWII plot device: an impossible quandary. Read story.

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Review: Whiplash

Even during a year of remarkable movies, Whiplash stands as a monument to cinematic craft. Read story.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: