WEATHER »

Film

Review: Frank

Frank is the bittersweet monument that contemporary rock deserves. Read story.

Friday, August 29, 2014

Review: If I Stay

Chloë Grace Moretz gives a strong performance as a teen caught in between life and death. Read story.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Review: Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

This is a gorgeous, decadent film, especially seen in 3D, but the story is too simplistic to get lost in. Read story.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Review: Le Chef

Daniel Cohen cowrites and directs this French live-action take on the Ratatouille tale. Read story.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Review: Calvary

Writer/director John Michael McDonagh gives us a tense mystery that asks a lot of tough questions about sin, redemption, and forgiveness. Read story.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Review: The Giver

The long-awaited film based on Lois Lowry’s novel struggles through its big-screen reinvention. Read story.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Review: Magic in the Moonlight

Despite its rough start and sour finale, there are some ingenious moments in Woody Allen’s latest period piece. Read story.

Monday, August 18, 2014

Review: The Hundred-Foot Journey

Lasse (Chocolat) Hallstrom returns to the world of food porn with this tale of culinary culture clash. Read story.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Review: Guardians of the Galaxy

Chris Pratt stars as the leader of a ragtag team of space misfits in this thrilling and spot-on sci-fi tale. Read story.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Review: Get On Up

Chadwick Boseman goes way beyond trance-channeling and completely transforms himself into James Brown. Read story.

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Review: Wish I Was Here

Zach Braff’s latest feels like Garden State Redux — and not in a good way. Read story.

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Review: Lucy

Luc Besson’s first head film is unintentionally campy but visually stunning. Read story.

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Review: Boyhood

Richard Linklater writes and directs this real-time story about growing up. Read story.

Friday, July 25, 2014

Review: The Purge: Anarchy

This sequel gets under your skin, in spite of its ridiculous premise. Read story.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Review: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Director Matt Reeves’s Planet of the Apes sequel is more poetic and carefully structured than its predecessor. Read story.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: