WEATHER »

Classical

Review: Camerata Pacifica at Hahn Hall

Camerata Pacifica marked its silver anniversary with new work, new faces, and a new CD. Read story.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Fall Arts Preview 2014: Classical

Whatever your taste in classical music, Santa Barbara’s extensive autumn offerings are sure to please. Read story.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Camerata Pacifica Turns 25

Camerata Pacific celebrates its 25th season with a new trio by a major American composer Read story.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Review: Academy Festival Orchestra at the Granada Theatre

The Music Academy ended its season with an entire program of modern music on Saturday, August 9. Read story.

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Review: Carmen at the Granada Theatre

Director David Paul and conductor James Gaffigan led cast, chorus, and orchestra on August 1 Read story.

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Review: The Academy Festival Orchestra at the Lobero Theatre

Saturday marked the first performance of the Music Academy’s fellows under the baton of New York Philharmonic Music Director Alan Gilbert. Read story.

Monday, July 28, 2014

Interview: New York Philharmonic Conductor Alan Gilbert

The music director talks orchestras, Beethoven, and the future of classical music in anticipation of his upcoming stint at the Music Academy of the West. Read story.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

James Gaffigan Returns to the Conductors Podium

The conductor helms a scaled-down Mahler symphony at the Lobero on July 22. Read story.

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Review: The Academy Festival Orchestra July 12

Strauss, Beethoven, and Ravel were on call in this lustrous evening at the Granada. Read story.

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Review: Daniel Hope at Hahn Hall

The Mosher Guest Artist led the Academy fellows for his exciting debut with Music Academy of the West. Read story.

Friday, July 11, 2014

The Music Academy of the West Goes Big

With an expanded guest artist program and a powerful new relationship with the New York Philharmonic, the Music Academy of the West is attracting international attention. Read story.

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Review: eighth blackbird at Hahn Hall

The sextet’s June 26 concert was enlivened by vital signs and tight patterns. Read story.

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Review: The Academy Festival Orchestra at the Lobero Theatre

This exciting concert pitted Romantic music by Richard Strauss against classical symphonies by Prokofiev and Beethoven. Read story.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Summer Arts Preview: Classical

Contemporary composers are well represented in the MAW’s programming this year. Read story.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Review: Adelfos Ensemble at Trinity Episcopal Church

Diverse in content, dense in substance, bright in execution, Adelfos Ensemble is the local choral scene’s undisputed star. Read story.

Wednesday, June 18, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: