WEATHER »

A&E Blog

Ed Schrader’s Music Beat on Urban Farming, Pavement Shout-Outs, and Paying Their Dues

The Baltimore duo heads west and plays the Biko Co-op Garage on Saturday, August 4. Read story.

Friday, August 3, 2012

Tony Sly Dies at 41

The frontman for San Jose punk rock band No Use for a Name passed away earlier this morning. Read story.

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

X at the Majestic Ventura Theater

The seminal Los Angeles punk rock outfit delivered a transcendent hour-long set on Sunday, July 29. Read story.

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Saint Motel

"Voyeur" has the confidence of an encore track and the earnestness of a debut effort. Read story.

Friday, July 27, 2012

Passion Pit

"Gossamer" builds nicely upon Passion Pit's successful foundation with more busy music that’s light on the acoustic, heavy on the electronic. Read story.

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Owen Plant

Plant's greatest accomplishment is the sense of optimism and genuine happiness that slides off of his acoustic guitar strings Read story.

Monday, July 23, 2012

Photo Gallery: Trash Talk at Velvet Jones

Hip-hop met hardcore on Wednesday, July 18. Read story.

Sunday, July 22, 2012

UCSB Grad’s Batman Webisodes Go Viral

Oren Brimer’s parodies of Christopher Nolan films clock 10 million page views and counting. Read story.

Friday, July 20, 2012

The Temper Trap

There really isn’t any groundbreaking equivalent to “Sweet Disposition,” but this record does find the band on the verge of placing its new sound. Read story.

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Little Wings Bring "Beach Pebble" Tunes to Isla Vista

Kyle Field discusses the joys of living in the pre-success realm. Read story.

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Alberta Cross

Swedish/British rock outfit Alberta Cross drops their first full-length album in three years on Tuesday, July 17. Read story.

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Bus 52 Project Makes a Stop in Santa Barbara

Amy Chin's traveling documentary project recently stopped in Santa Barbara to profile area do-gooders Art From Scrap. Read story.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Tangerine Dream at the Granada Theatre

The German electronic pioneers delivered three hours worth of music, lights, and visuals to a sparse crowd last Wednesday, July 11. Read story.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Our Town at Elings Park

Think you know "Our Town"? You’ll be struck, in this setting, at how much the script exalts the great outdoors. Read story.

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Infantree Bring Hero's Dose to Santa Barbara

L.A.'s Infantree play Velvet Jones with The Royalty on Friday, June 29 Read story.

Friday, June 29, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: